Council for Teacher Education January 9, 2012

The fifth meeting of the Council for Teacher Education for the 2011-2012 academic year was held Monday, January 9, 2012 at 3:15 p.m. in Speight 312. Members present: Vivian Covington (Chair), Michael Brown, John Carlson, Mike Dawson, Kylie Dotson-Blake, Johna Faulconer, Bill Grobe, Cheryl Johnson, Jami Jones, Laura King, LCSN-PCS representatives Carla Frinsko and Lionel Kato, Mark Malley, Susan Morgan, Graduate Student Rep-Jennifer Nester, Marcela Ruiz-Funes, Shari Steadman, Jane Teleki, Ivan Wallace, Jamie Williams, and Sarah Williams. Absent were Michael Bossé, Lena Carawan, Bethann Fine, Greg Hurley, Diana Lys, Lisa Rogerson, Sharon Schleigh, and Undergraduate Student Rep.

Order of Business

Chair Vivian Covington welcomed everyone.

Agenda I - Approval of Minutes -- The minutes from the December 12, 2011 meeting were accepted as written.

Agenda II – Announcements—There were no announcements.

Agenda III-Assessment Update & Accreditation

Diana Lys was unable to attend the meeting today and report on SACS, NCATE or DPI.

Agenda IV –Standing Update from Office of Clinical Experiences

Susan Morgan, Lead Coordinator OCE/AL stated that all SR II internship forms for spring 2012 are in TaskStream[®], except for the Certification of Teaching Capacity (old Form S), which will still be in paper form.

Today is the last day for SRI, spring/fall 2012 placements. A few requests have been received today for the spring/fall placements and a few for just the SRII placement.

Ms. Morgan asked that departments please replace Karli Ruscoe's name with hers on websites pertaining to alternative licensure. Alternative Licensure is tracking all inquiries. Inquiries should go to alternativelicensure@ecu.edu or 328-2700. Messages left at the number are forwarded to a central ECU email and retrieved daily.

Please remind students to refer to the <u>Welcome to Teacher Education</u> handbook (Apple Book) should they have questions about policy and procedures.

Two new coordinators will begin work in January and February. Karen Singer from Pitt County Schools will begin January 17 and Wendy Buck from Jones County Schools will begin February 13, 2012.

Agenda V-Old Busines—There was no old business.

Agenda VI-New Business

Your patience is needed as we work through all the initiatives this year; electronic evidences (EEs), Teacher Performance Assessment, and TaskStream[®]. One-third of the SRII clinical teachers have registered in TaskStream[®]. Contact tshelp@ecu.edu for technical support. Online and face-to-face training continues. On Wednesday, Vivian Covington will meet with SRI students who will receive the same information as the SRII's received on Monday. During SRI, clinical teachers are asked to complete three tasks in TaskStream[®]; complete the Information Form, SR I Support Survey Form and Disposition Form B. During SR II, clinical teachers will be asked to complete one task, complete the CT Feedback Form on working with the University Supervisor. (Copies of the memos to SR I and SRII Clinical Teachers were forwarded to CTE members for informational purposes).

Agenda VII – Standing Committees

<u>Curriculum</u>, Mike Brown, chair, reported that the committee met and approved the following. 1) change the wording of the "fitness" test for all EXSS majors. 2) four new courses were added to the general science academic concentration. 3) the MAED in Mathematics Education was changed from 39 to 36 hours. 4) The

MAED in Birth-K made minor changes, banking and replacing three courses. There will be four strands from which to choose, all of which lead to a license. 5) FACS had one course change. The report was accepted.

The next meetings of the CTE Curriculum Committee are February 6, March 12 and April 2, 2012 at 9:30 a.m. The room will be determined.

Evaluation & Planning, Diana Lys-No report

Admission & Retention, Sharon Schleigh-No report.

Policy, Johna Faulconer—No report

Vivian Covington asked the members of the Admission & Retention Committee to remain and meet concerning a recent issue. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:40 p.m. The next meeting will be February 13, 2012 in Room 312.

Respectfully submitted,

Sherry S. Tripp